World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize

World Monuments Fund invites you to submit a nomination for the 2014 World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize. The prize will be awarded this fall to a design professional or firm in recognition of innovative solutions that preserved and saved a modern landmark at risk. Nominated projects must have been completed in the past five years.

The World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize recognizes heroic efforts that preserve our modern heritage. Submissions for projects that have enhanced a site’s architectural, functional, economic, and environmental sustainability while also benefiting the community are encouraged.



  • A cash honorarium of $10,000;
  • A Knoll® Barcelona® Chair;
  • Round-trip airfare and hotel accommodations in New York City to attend an awards dinner and present the project at a lecture at The Museum of Modern Art;
  • Media promotion of the winning project by the WMF communications department.



Electronic submissions are encouraged and should be made to Printed materials may be mailed to the address at the bottom of this form. There is no application fee.

Please include the following information in your email:

  • The name of the site and its location (city, state/region, country);
  • A narrative description (up to 500 words) of the preservation project, the modern landmark’s significance, and the threats it faced;
  • Six photos of the structure (three before and three following completion of the project), if available;
  • The name and contact information of the design professional or firm responsible for the project;
  • Your name and email address.

We welcome any other information that is relevant to the site, such as news articles, reviews, or links. In the event that you would like to nominate a project but do not have complete supporting materials, please provide us with as much basic information as you can.



An independent jury of architectural scholars, conservators, and professionals in related fields will select the prizewinner. The jury is chaired by Barry Bergdoll, Columbia University and MoMA. Other jury members are: Jean-Louis Cohen, Institute of Fine Arts, New York University; Kenneth Frampton, Columbia University; Susan MacDonald, The Getty Conservation Institute; Dietrich Neumann, Brown University; Theo Prudon, Prudon & Partners LLP; and Karen Stein, writer, editor, and architectural consultant.

Please share this call for nominations with your colleagues. For more information about the World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize, including previous recipients, visit